The NCAN Four Tier Model of Advice sets out some key distinctions between types of information and advice and also includes categories of related support. It is hoped this model will facilitate a consistent approach to understanding and mapping advice services in Norfolk.

Click here to download the Four Tier Model of Advice

Clients of advice services deserve the best quality advice we can provide. To ensure this, a focus on quality needs to be embedded at all operational and organisational levels and be reflected in a culture of continuous improvement. We believe that the best way to ensure this is to have is an externally awarded quality mark.

However, if an organisation does not have a relevant quality mark we believe that this does not preclude a quality advice service. We would therefore expect that advice services should at least have the following in place:
• A Strategy or Development Plan for your service for the next three years
• An Equality and Diversity Policy
• A Complaints and Feedback Policy and Procedure
• Policies that ensure advice given is impartial, independent and confidential
• A procedure for recording the advice given and action taken
• A procedure for checking the quality of the advice
• A Training and Development policy
• A procedure to ensure advisors have access to the information they need and this is kept up to date
• Professional Indemnity Insurance

In terms of a procedure for checking the quality of advice, we endorse the Advice Quality Standard established that there should be adequate information in case records around the following areas:
• Establishing the facts and diagnosing the problems
• Advice
• Action or support
• Signposting and referral
• Advice records